National Association for Music Education Names Mackie V. Spradley the 2018-2020 National President-Elect

On February 8, 2018, the National Association for Music Education (NAfME) announced the 2018-2020 National President-Elect chosen by NAfME Members: Dr. Mackie V. Spradley, Immediate Past President of NAfME’s Texas chapter. The North Central, Southern, and Western Division Presidents-Elect for 2018-20 were also named.

On February 8, 2018, the National Association for Music Education (NAfME) announced the 2018-2020 National President-Elect chosen by NAfME Members. Dr. Mackie V. Spradley, Immediate Past President of the NAfME Texas chapter, is the Director of Enrichment Education for the Texas Education Agency who provides statewide leadership over all enrichment subjects. Concurrently, Mackie teaches graduate-level courses in the Educational Leadership Online Master’s Program as an adjunct professor in the Department of Teacher Education and Administration, College of Education, University of North Texas.

“Every two years, the members of NAfME cast their votes for the next person to lead the association, and thus set the direction for NAfME in carrying out the association’s Strategic Plan,” said Michael J. Blakeslee, NAfME Executive Director and CEO. “We value the contributions to music education from all the candidates who take part in this process and look forward to Mackie Spradley carrying forth our long tradition of leadership for the field.”

Learn more about the selected Presidents-Elect:

  •     NAfME 2018-20 National President-Elect: Mackie V. Spradley. Before becoming the Coordinator of Secondary Choral & General Music Studies in the Dallas Independent School District for 10 years, Dr. Spradley taught music in Ft. Worth ISD and Dallas ISD for 16 years. Dr. Spradley’s teaching experiences include Texas Woman’s University, Ft. Worth Civic Chorus, private studio voice, and extended assignments in Jamaica and Japan. She has served as Multicultural Chair, board member of the National Association for Multicultural Educators, associated faculty with the Texas Christian University Center for Public Education, state-level think-tanks, and as a curriculum writer of the Music Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills. In addition to serving as Immediate Past President of the Texas NAfME chapter, Dr. Spradley is the facilitator for the Teacher Retention Area for Strategic Planning and Action with the Society of Music Teacher Education (SMTE). Learn more.
  •     North Central Division President-Elect: Karen Salvador. Karen Salvador is an associate professor of music education at the University of Michigan-Flint. Dr. Salvador’s research pertains to inclusion, equity, and justice in music education, examining the intersections of instructional practices, policy, and music teacher education. She is past facilitator of the Society for Music Teacher Education’s Area for Strategic Planning and Action on Cultural Diversity and Social Justice, and currently serves as President of the Michigan Music Education Association. Learn more.
  •     Southern Division President-Elect: Sonja Zonetta McLean Williams. Sonja Williams has more than 29 years of collegiate and intermediate school teaching experience. She was named Teacher of the Year three times, and has held many leadership positions within NCMEA, including Middle School Choral Section Member-at-Large, Chair-Elect, Chair, and currently an Adjudicator. She has served on the Board of Directors as Member-at-Large and Scholarship Chair. Mrs. Williams is a Past President of the North Carolina Music Educators Association. Learn more.
  •     Western Division President-Elect: Renee Shane-Boyd. Renee Shane-Boyd served as Arizona Music Educators Association’s (AMEA) President from 2013-2015. A teacher in Catalina Foothills School District for 35 years, she is currently Director of Bands at Catalina Foothills High School. Honors include the OM Hartsell Excellence in Music Education Award, University of Arizona Honored Educator, 2009 CFSD Teacher of the Year Award, AMEA Longevity in Teaching Award, and in 2015, the Rotary International named her a Paul Harris Fellow for outstanding contributions to the community. Learn more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The SMG Report